top of page

The start of something new.

Hello people who aren't reading this because I don't have any followers yet (If you can even get followers on a blog??) I'm basically writing to myself right now because I'm too scared to actually publish this in case I'm doing it all wrong but I'm just going to pretend I don't know anything about myself. Basically my names Jem *Jemima Ellen Laurel Higginbottom* but no one actually calls me that, apart from my history teacher. I'm 17 years old, studying my last few months of A levels before my life becomes taken over by exams, stress, eating and probably crying. I live in England with my mum, dad, older brother and my nephew (whose actually a French bulldog). Another significant person in my life is my boyfriend who is practically my right arm, leg and hand and I honestly could not live without him, although he's annoying sometimes ;). Life wouldn't be anywhere near as funny without my best friends who are possibly some of the weirdest people on earth, and always manage to put a cheeky grin on my face. I live what I consider to be a very standard life of being a secret agent for MI5 and spying on secret organisations who are plotting the worlds end, lol only joking I actually work a part time job in a smelly Chinese takeaway. Even though I get home and smell like a chow mein there are a lot of advantages to my job, them being the following:

1. FREE FOOD

2. Good wages, which allows me to do a lot of the interesting things I do and make many memories

3. Only a 7 minute walk or a 2 minute drive to get there

4. Decent and generous people to work for

5. Laid back environment, meaning I can revise or watch reality TV when we're not busy (depending on how productive I'm feeling)

5. Regular customers who tell me interesting stories and are genuinely happy to see me

6. A pub directly opposite, which admittedly is an old mans pub but sells cheap drink and has average music till 1am

7. My boyfriend can come and keep me company, and even does my job for me sometimes haha

There are probably a few more good things about where I work but I cant think of anymore right now so I'll let you know them at a later date.


I'm not too sure what else to write, when I looked up "How to write your first blog post" it didn't really give me many ideas. The reason why I'm starting this blog is for multiple reasons really, firstly, I want a project which I can work on outside of school because I don't really have any hobbies or talents which I can say I'm proud of. I'm not sporty, or musical (although I do consider myself quite a good rapper) and have no hobbies like chess or stamp collecting or something boring like that. When I was younger I used to be THE BIGGEST bookworm, me, my dad and my brother would go to the library every Tuesday to change our books and it was probably the most exciting point of my week, especially when we did the summer reading challenge hahaha. Also I think a blog will be such a good place to document everything and note all your memories down in one place and store them forever, like a diary but without writing in a diary because we've all said to ourselves about 10 times in our lives that were going to start keeping a diary and just end up getting bored or losing it, hence the name Jem's not so secret diary . I can't tell whether the names catchy or cringe but I'm just gonna stick with it for now because I've got nothing else up my sleeve.


I think I'm just going to do it weekly and sort of write about what happened that week or if nothing interesting happened I'll post about things I'm interested in, basically clothes or makeup (and food). The idea of this blog is to create a place where people can relate to, the people who will be able to relate to me will mostly be people in my age range and people would assume only girls but there is no specific target audience for this blog, I'll be happy if anyone reads it really haha. I want to share my experiences with other people and ideally build a community on here where everyone can speak to each other and help each other because at the age of 17/ 18 there is so much going on and so many new things to think about and big decisions to make, I think its interesting to hear about other peoples ideas and experiences and give each other tips and advice when things get overwhelming, I don't want this to be taken too seriously as it is just a bit of fun really and a bit of an experiment.


Hopefully someone will have read this before my next post, if I even share it that is. Also if you're reading this please subscribe or sign up just so it feels like someone has acknowledged it, thanks!!!

Love, Jem x



Scampy dog (my nephew)

219 views8 comments
bottom of page